April 6, 2012

April 6, 2012–It may come as a surprise to you that I’m actually not that into writing.  After a year of daily blogs, I’ve certainly improved in content and delivery, or at least in spelling and grammar (I hope).  What isn’t a surprise, especially if you know me of have read a few key entries this past year, is that I love to read.  From fictitious to historical, biographies and short snippets–reading is my number one hobby.   Since my writing is so-so, I truly do admire a well-written bit of anything and so I am please to announcement and showcase National Poetry Month in Canada.

The League of Canadian Poets may not boast a showy website but have it in their mind’s eye to put poetry back into the hands of many with events, awareness and education all surrounding poets and poetry in Canada.  Not to mention, they are a “league” which is just somehow classier than an association.   I think that we are possibly put off of poetry (based solely on my own experience) early on in our lives, as we sit through lesson after lesson of the “same-old-classics.” Without the full experience of what is out there in terms of Canadian poetry, the love and respect of this amazing craft is simply not developed.  Fear not, The League of Canadian Poets is here to represent over 700 Canadian poets so this talented bunch is nurtured and promoted to the poetry-less public.

To learn more about poetry in Canada and what’s happening this month for National Poetry Month in Canada, visit www.poets.ca or click on their logo.

Leave a comment